2013 – Canberra

The 2013 Australian Access Class Championships, concurrently with the Asia-Pacific Championships were held at the Canberra Yacht Club over the Easter long weekend, 29 to 31 March 2013.

Part of the celebration of Canberra’s Centenary, the Championships were officially opened by Federal Sports Minister Kate Lundy. Competitors travelled to Canberra from all over Australia, along with competitors from New Zealand and Japan.

Single person racing was held in the Access 2.3, 303 and Liberty classes and the two-person competition was in the Access 303 and SKUD 18. 2012 Paralympic Gold Medalists Dan Fitzgibbon and Liesl Tesch also competed, inspiring the next generation of developing sailors in the process. The 2013 Australian & Asia-Pacific Access Class Championships concluded with a full program of eight races for each division conducted by Phil Yeomans and his race management team. The racing saw a light and variable morning breeze being replaced by a moderate westerly in the early afternoon, providing excellent race conditions to finish off the regatta.

The single person divisions were first on the water after the obligatory AP flag was lowered at 10:30. Chris Ruston (QLD) completed a perfect scorecard in the Access 2.3 competition with Allister Peek (ACT) taking second place and Doug Monk (NSW) in third.

In the Liberties, Bob Schahinger (SA) claimed the overall win by a comfortable margin. There was much shuffling of places further down the fleet however, including a 1-2 score on the final day for Chris Riordan (VIC) enabling him to swap positions with Cadeyrn Gaskin (VIC) who finished the regatta in third.

In the 303 doubles, Jocelyn & Tristan Nuemueller (SA) did not sail the final race, but had built an 11 point lead to secure the championship trophy. Alyse Saxby & Bob Hamilton (NSW) had some placings they would rather forget, dropping them from second place yesterday to fourth. John Price & Lindsay Mason (NSW) moved up to second with 3-4 finishes and two race wins today by Nicholas Dukes & Bruce James (VIC) moved them up to third.

In the SKUD 18s, Ame Barnbrook & Matt Crawford (NSW) posted a 4-1 this afternoon to finish their championship with a two point advantage over Rob & Peter Crawford (NSW). Paralympic Gold Medalist Liesl Tesch sailing with Mark Thomson were third.

Regatta organiser Terry Peek emceed the presentation ceremony on the lawns of the Canberra Yacht Club, with trophies presented by Race Officer Phil Yeomans (NSW) and Jury Chairman John Grace (NZL).

2.3 and 303 singles results

303 doubles results

Liberty & SKUD19 results